Weekly Top 10 Automation Articles

1. Artificial Intelligence Can Detect PTSD In Your Voice

Now, researchers at New York University say they’ve taken the guesswork out of diagnosing PTSD in veterans by using artificial intelligence to objectively detect PTSD by listening to the sound of someone’s voice. Their research, conducted alongside SRI International — the research institute responsible for bringing Siri to iPhones— was published Monday in the journal Depression and Anxiety.

Author: Natalie Coleman

Read More On: FUTURISM

2. Microsoft To Join MLflow Project, Add Native Support To Azure Machine Learning

Microsoft has been serious about helping data scientists track and manage their machine learning experiments for some time now. For example, the company's Azure Machine Learning (Azure ML) cloud service has supported the logging of experiments, including iterative runs with varying algorithms, hyperparameter values, or both.

Author: Andrew Brust

Read More On: ZDNET

3. Tesla Says Its New Self-Driving Chip Will Help Make Its Cars Autonomous

Yesterday, during its Autonomy Investor Day in Palo Alto, California, Tesla unveiled its first custom AI chip, which promises to propel the company toward its goal of full autonomy. The 260-square-millimeter piece of silicon contains 6 billion transistors and is capable of processing 36 trillion operations per second, the company says. On stage it also claimed that this made its chips far more powerful than the Nvidia chips it had used before, but Nvidia quickly disputed the claim, saying Tesla had made a faulty comparison.

Author: Karen Hao

Read More On: MIT TECHNOLOGY REVIEW

4. Deep Learning Can Help Us Eradicate Suicide – But Only If We Let It

Humanity’s mental health crisis has reached pandemic proportions. Bluntly put: we don’t seem capable of solving the problem on our own. Cutting edge AI research shows a clear path forward, but society as a whole will have to accept the fact that mental health is real in order for us to take the first steps.

Author: Tristan Greene

Read More On: THE NEXT WEB

5. Forget About Artificial Intelligence, Extended Intelligence Is The Future

The notion of singularity – which includes the idea that AI will supercede humans with its exponential growth, making everything we humans have done and will do insignificant – is a religion created mostly by people who have designed and successfully deployed computation to solve problems previously considered impossibly complex for machines.

Author: Joi Ito

Read More On: WIRED

6. Debunking The Myths And Reality Of Artificial Intelligence

A few years ago, it was hard to find anyone to have a serious discussion about Artificial Intelligence (AI) outside academic institutions. Today, nearly everyone talks about AI. Like any new major technology trend, the new wave of making AI and intelligent systems a reality is creating curiosity and enthusiasm. People are jumping on its bandwagon adding not only great ideas but also in many cases a lot of false promises and sometimes misleading opinions.

Author: Ahmed El Adl

Read More On: FORBES

7. Facebook Confirms It’s Working On An AI Voice Assistant For Portal And Oculus Products

Facebook has confirmed a report from earlier today saying it’s working on an artificial intelligence-based digital voice assistant in the vein of Amazon’s Alexa and Google Assistant. The news, first reported by CNBC, indicates Facebook isn’t giving up on a vision it first put out years ago, when it began developing an AI assistant for its Messenger platform simply called M.

Author: Nick Statt

Read More On: THE VERGE

8. Nvidia Launches Its Lsaac SDK To Help Democratize AI-Powered Robot Development

Today at TechCrunch’s TC Sessions: Robotics + AI event at UC Berkeley, Nvidia VP of Engineering Claire Delaunay  announced that the company’s Isaac SDK is available for download. Announced last month, the software development kit is part of the chipmaker’s ongoing push to help make robotics development more accessible for a wider range of users.

Author: Brian Heater

Read More On: TECH CRUNCH

9. Future Hypersonics Could Be Artificially Intelligent

A test launch for a hypersonic weapon—a long-range missile that flies a mile per second and faster—takes weeks of planning. So, while the U.S. and other states are racing to deploy hypersonic technologies, it remains uncertain how useful the systems will be against urgent, mobile or evolving threats. Sandia National Laboratories, which has made and tested hypersonic vehicles for more than thirty years, thinks artificial intelligence and autonomy could slash these weeks to minutes for deployed systems.

Author: Sandia National Labs

Read More On: PHYS.ORG

10. Experts: To Solve AI’s Bias Problem, Hire Fewer White Men

If you can think of a problem, there’s likely a researcher somewhere trying to develop an artificial intelligence to solve it. But while AIs themselves have grown more diverse in recent years, the researchers creating the systems haven’t.According to a new report out of New York University’s AI Now Institute, the AI industry is still dominated by white men — and this “diversity crisis” is partially to blame for the biased AIs we’re seeing crop up around the globe.

Author: Kristin Houser

Read More On: FUTURISM

Yusra Hamid